How to use Microsoft Outlook with your Homestead email account

My most recent encounter with Homestead support was regarding “setting up my homestead email with Microsoft Outlook” and I am sure you can figure out that they didn’t really have the answers.

I found the “help article” on the homestead website that explains how to set up Outlook to receive my homestead emails but wouldn’t you know THE INFO WAS INCORRECT! I proceeded to set up my outlook account EXACTLY how the help topic explained however, when I would run the test it would say there was a error connecting to the outgoing server (ie: Homestead mail server).

I then contacted a support agent and he said “you should contact your ISP (internet service provider) and ask them how to set up their server for outlook. I mentioned that it was an OUTGOING SERVER ISSUE (meaning it was an issue with homestead servers and not my incoming server (dont worry about the technical stuff, its not important). To make a long story short,… he was NO HELP AT ALL and I was off to figuring this out on my own… This seems to be the story of my life with Homestead.

Lucky for you, I have dedicated my time and efforts to make sure you do not have to experience these kinds of frustration and lack of “knowledgable customer service”! I will now explain to you how to set up your homestead email account with Microsoft Outlook.

(NOTE: This tutorial is designed for Microsoft Outlook 2007, I am told from viewers that the steps provided in this post have worked with Outlook 2010 but have not received any feedback regarding previous versions of Outlook. Your feed back would be helpful if you are running an earlier version of Microsoft Outlook.)

HOW TO SET UP YOUR HOMESTEAD EMAIL WITH MICROSOFT OUTLOOK 2007:

STEP 1: With Outlook open, select the “Tools” tab at the top and scroll down/Click on “Account Settings” (see image below)

step 1 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 1: Tools > Account Settings

 

STEP 2: In the “Account Settings” screen, make sure the “Email” tab is selected and then click on “NEW”. (see image below)

step 2 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 2: Start New Account

 

STEP 3 (Choose Email Service Screen): You have two(2) options here, the first is “Microsoft Exchange, POP3, IMAP and HTTP” and the second is “Other“. Homestead email is going to be set up as a POP 3 email account in outlook so you will want to select the first option and then hit next. (see image below)

step 3 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 3: Select POP 3 option

 

STEP 4: (Auto Account Setup is a NO NO!): You should now be on the “Auto Account Setup” screen. On this screen, you do not want to fill in any of the text fields, You need to click on the select the option at the bottom that says “Manually configure server settings or additional server types” and then click next. (see image below)

step 4 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 4: Select Manually Configure

 

STEP 5 (Choose Email Service): On this screen you will have three (3) options available which are: Internet Email, Microsoft Exchange and Other. You will want to select the “Internet Email” option and the click next. (see image below)

step 5 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 5: Choose Email service

 

STEP 6 (Internet Email Settings): Now is the fun stuff! (NOTE: The image for this section displays “example.com”… please enter your actual domain name rather than example.com)

Fill out the Email Settings screen as follows:

  • NAME – Enter your name (this is what will show up as “sender” when you email someone.)
  • EMAIL ADDRESS – Enter your email address.
  • ACCOUNT TYPE – POP 3
  • INCOMING MAIL SERVER – mail.yourdomain.com (or .net, .org .biz etc… it depends on what your domain name is)
  • OUTGOING MAIL SERVER (SMTP) – smtp.yourdomain.com (or .net, .org .biz etc… it depends on what your domain name is)
  • USER NAME – Enter your email here.
  • PASSWORD – Enter the password that you use for the above email.
  • REMEMBER PASSWORD – Check the box (unless you have a public computer and do not want others to be able to access your email)

You will now want to click the “MORE SETTINGS” box to the lower right. (see image below)

Step 6 for setting up outlook with homestead email

STEP 6: Internet Email Settings

 

STEP 7 (General): In the “More settings” screen, make sure you have the “General” tab selected. In the top field you will want to enter your email address. DO NOT ENTER YOUR NAME OR OTHER NAME OR ELSE HOMESTEAD EMAIL WILL NOT WORK WITH OUTLOOK. YOU MUST ENTER YOUR EMAIL!

  • Organization – you can enter your name or a company name
  • Reply Email – Enter your email again.

DO NOT CLICK OK! (see image below)

step 7 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

Step 7: Mail Account

 

STEP 8 (Outgoing Server): Click on the “Outgoing Server” tab at the top and enter the information as follows: Put a check in the box that says “My outgoing server (SMTP) requires authentication“. You will then select the option that says “Log on using” and enter your information as shown in the image below. (make sure you replace “example.com” with your actual domain name) Select “Remember Password” if you desire. DO NOT CLICK OK! (see image below)

step 8 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 8: Outgoing Server

 

 

 

STEP 9 (Connection): Click on the “Connection” tab at the top and enter the information as follows:  NOTE: I have “Connect using my Local Area Network(LAN)” selected because we are on a high speed internet connection and use an LAN line for internet. IF YOU USE A PHONE LINE OR 3RD PARTY DIALER, YOU WILL NEED TO SELECT THOSE OPTIONS ON THIS SCREEN INSTEAD OF THE (LAN) OPTION! DO NOT CLICK OK!(see image below)

step 9 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 9: Connection

 

STEP 10 (Advanced): Click on the “Advanced” tab at the top and enter the information as follows:

The only important thing here is to make sure that the INCOMING SERVER (POP 3) PORT is 110 and the OUTGOING SERVER(SMTP) PORT is 587. Your screen should look exactly like the image below. CLICK OK! (see image below)

step 10 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 10: Advanced

 

STEP 11 (Test Account Settings): You are finished entering information and should be back on the “Internet Email Settings” screen. You will now want to select “Test Account Settings” to make sure that you entered everything in correctly. (see image below)

step 11 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 11: Test Account

 

STEP 12 (Congratulations!): If you entered everything in correctly, you should see a screen that says congratulations!, blah blah blah, and you are now ready to start using Outlook 2007 with your Homestead email accounts!!! (see image below)

step 12 for setting up homestead email with microsoft outlook 2007

STEP 12: Congratulations, Your are finished!

 

 

If this tutorial did not work out for your particular situation, please send details to homesteadseopro@gmail.com or leave a comment and we will look into a resolution for you.

Please remember to comment and subscribe!

Homestead SEO Pro offers 100% FREE ADVICE for intuit/homestead users. Please return the favor by adding a link to your website pointing to this blog post! We thank you for visiting!

 

 

 

 

About John R Burke
John R. Burke is a serial entrepreneur, multiple business owner, Sales and Marketing Consultant, and business development extraordinaire; specializing in business growth and development strategies, personal/leadership development, and company image branding.

22 Responses to How to use Microsoft Outlook with your Homestead email account

  1. Linda says:

    John, thank you so much for this tutorial. You saved me from hours (or days) of headache. I was getting nowhere trying to fix my ‘send’ problem on my own. Thanks again.

  2. Scott Baxter says:

    Hello and thanks for the guide to setting up Homestead email on Microsoft Outlook. You saved me some hours of research and trial and error, thanks a million! I’m using Outlook 2010 and it’s working fine.

    Cheers!

  3. Jeanne Malnati says:

    THANK YOU!

  4. Dan says:

    I can’t thank you enough. This is the first time in two years that my Outlook has worked with Intuit’s Homestead email. It’s been very frustrating and the correct answers are not forthcoming from Intuit.

    Thanks again!

  5. Paul says:

    I wish to thank you John R. Burke. I am so happy I found this post. I was having the hardest time setting up my email.

  6. paula says:

    my email messages are hitting my homestead email account then forwarding to my outlook but then they disappear from my homestead. how do i keep the messages in both?

  7. Devon says:

    Thank you! Thank you! and Thank you again! We just had AT&T U-Verse installed and all of the sudden our Homestead outgoing email stopped working. After following your simple and easy to follow direction we are back on track!

  8. Trey says:

    Worked perfect for Outlook 2010…thanks

  9. Yomama2010 says:

    I can not thank you enough for this information – I have Microsoft Outlook 2010 and it worked the first time – after my other many failed attempts. I pray good comes back to you because I’m just soooo happy it’s finally done.

  10. David Ray says:

    WOW, THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!!!

  11. matt says:

    This is great. HS is Internet for dinosaurs (literally, the prehistoric beast, not old people) and you make is manageable. since this is what my work has given me, i’m glad you’re around the assist.

  12. Thank you – I have reached my capacity with Zimbra and was about to panic. I appreciate you taking the time to share.

  13. SPO says:

    going to try this; thank you for spelling it out so well. I’ve been using HomesteadMail on my Outlook, but it doesnt send to some people if I have an attachment on the email. Hopefully this will fix this problem.

  14. Jason Kujawa says:

    Thank you so much. I have been trying to figure this out for months. It takes up way too much time to log into the account online to send or reply to emails.

  15. mike ross says:

    Still cant get it to work. I have tried it several times and get

    554 sender IP address blocked, err-365-ip

    message every time I got to test the account. Any ideas?

  16. WOW. Sir, you are amazing. You should be getting paid for this information. This info is so hard to find!!!! I did exactly as you said after trying many many many times……… and WAH-LAH! thanks a trillion! I’d hug your neck and give you a $100 bill if you were here.

    • John R Burke says:

      Mr. Johnson, Thank you for the kind words and you are very welcome for the information, I am glad that you were able to benefit from our post(s). I am also always inviting for a hug AND $100! Maybe we can make arrangements :) If you would like to help us out, you can add a link to our blog -on your website. We do not expect it however, it is greatly appreciated! Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to assist you.

  17. kyle says:

    You’re the man… thanks

  18. Awesome! Thank you!!! I used your directions on my Mac Outlook 2011 and it worked like a charm. Thank you!

  19. Brad says:

    John,

    I’ve had homestead mail working with Outlook 2007 for months. All of a sudden yesterday it doesn’t receive emails, but will send them. I have gone through all of my settings and done test after test with no success.
    My Droid X had the same prob for a few hours, but now works.

    Any ideas?

    -Brad

  20. Owner says:

    AWESOME!!!! Sweet….thanks for the support! Worked with ease

  21. Terri Aim says:

    After 4 years with no problems got to work this morning and my mail would not send. Went through you screens, changed my outgoing server to the one on here and just like magic it was fixed. Thank you for saving me wasted hours with Homestead.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

